Galut: I am a displaced person

Galut: I am a displaced person
Wendy Kenin 09

I walk this land across the sea from where my ancestors walked.
The land where the bones of our matriarchs rest,
where the wombs of my grandmothers came from and returned,
where our holy stories remain.

My biology yearns to indigenize in that place.
I long for those flavors, those smells, those textures,
where the plants and stones and generations of critters know me.
The place where my prayers travel to,
enjoining my relatives’ prayers from around the world.
I crave that place where our prayers rise up to the Creator.
The place from where I emerged.
I need that place to survive.
I am a refugee of 2000 years, and I have not forgotten.

The stories, the stories, remain in that place
We bury our deceased all these centuries with sand sent from there
Our daily prayers remind us of the history and sacredness
But only if we remember the language, our stories.

Those words in ancient Hebrew, in Aramaic, are ours
Because we inherited them, with the legacies they recorded and retell
From our fathers and mothers who lived back then
Through our devoted relatives through the ages who studied, practiced,
Preserved the traditions we live by and the experiences of our ancestors.

We know those stories like noone else
Because we have unbroken oral traditions and texts
By which the stories and language have been guarded and sustained;
Which have maintained the core while nurturing the growth, continuation,
Survival of our people in exile from that place.

When I spend time in the wild
Or observe other peoples in their places of origin,
I find myself longing again
And it takes patience and pleading
To survive the displacement
And remain conscious of the reason I crave
The place of my grandmothers
Where we pray for pregnancies, births, and descendants at Rachel’s Tomb
The place from where I emerged.
I need that place to survive.
I am a refugee of 2000 years, and I have not forgotten.

About greendoula

Birthing babies, social movements, and new world paradigms!

Leave a Reply

